Tuesday, 17 September 2019 10:35

If it clucks is it vegan?

Written by  Milking It

Is food vegan simply because it doesn’t come from a cow? This question has puzzled one in five Britons.

More and more people are choosing a vegan lifestyle, but a new survey reveals that the concept is still baffling many meat eaters. So much so, that a surprising number of Brits believe eggs and goat milk are suitable for vegans.

The participants in the recent survey were asked which products they believed were vegan and to choose the correct descriptions of certain foods from a list of options.

The results showed that one in five (20%) Brits thought eggs were vegan. Similarly, 22% thought the same of goat milk just because it didn’t come from cows.

More like this

That’s not milk

Stop calling your product milk! That’s the message from a US Senator to non-dairy producers.


Water reforms come at a cost

The government’s new freshwater laws, signed off this week, have the potential to create significant unnecessary costs for ratepayers, farmers and entire communities, Federated Farmers says.

2020 harvest yields up

Final harvest data for wheat, barley and oats (milling/malting and feed) in 2020 show yields were up 17% overall across the six crops.


Difficult but the right call

DairyNZ chief executive Dr Tim Mackle says the joint decision three years ago to eradicate Mycoplamsa bovis was a difficult call.

Milking cluster milks runner-up award

DeLaval has come away with the runner up prize in this year’s Fieldays Online innovation competition with a new milking cluster that eliminates the need for conventional liner changes.

Glow worms to cows

Thomas Lundman's work focus has gone from tracking tiny critters in pitch black caves to looking after considerably larger animals in paddocks near Whakatane.

» Latest Print Issues Online

Milking It

A ticking timebomb?

There could be another dairy health scare brewing in China and this one starts in our backyard.

Please explain

Does anyone in the Government understand the essential role St John Ambulance has in our society?

» Connect with Dairy News

» eNewsletter

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter