Tuesday, 13 October 2015 12:45

Cook wins DairyNZ seat

Written by 
Waikato farmer Elaine Cook. Waikato farmer Elaine Cook.

Waikato farmer Elaine Cook has been elected to the DairyNZ board.

She replaces John Luxton, who stepped down as DairyNZ chairman and retired at today's annual meeting.

Two sitting board members- Ben Allomes and Michael Spaans were re-elected for anther term.

Cook has served as an associate director of DairyNZ; she was the 2006 NZ Sharemilker of the Year and was a finalist in the NZ Dairy Woman of the year award this year.

She has 30 years dairy farming experience in Waikato and Southland.

Meanwhile DairyNZ will appoint a new chairman at a board meeting early next month.

Barry Harris will act as chairman until the new leader is appointed.

Former Fonterra director Jim van der Poel is the frontrunner for the post.

More like this

Queries linger around water plan

DairyNZ says it is still working through the details of the Government’s Essential Freshwater package announced late last month.

Southland waits and hopes

Southland is on the knife edge as farmers struggle to grow enough feed to get their stock through winter.

The ideal cow for OAD milking

There was a large turnout on a recent DairyNZ webinar discussing once-a-day (OAD) milking, with participants joining in from Northland and Southland and all places in between.



» The RNG Weather Report

» Latest Print Issues Online

Milking It

Caught out?

Was Fonterra caught napping in Australia?

Celebrity welfare

Wannabe kiwi James Cameron is back in the country, under a special visa, to continue filming his movie during the…

» Connect with Dairy News

» eNewsletter

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter