Tuesday, 18 September 2018 10:04

Seven-way battle for DairyNZ seat

Written by 

Seven farmer candidates will fight for a position on DairyNZ’s board of directors.

The seven candidates are; Steve Atkinson, Wardville, Tim Barrett, New Plymouth, Tracy Brown, Matamata, Greg Mitchell, Napier, Mike Montgomerie, Cambridge, Andrew Robb, Greymouth and Jacqueline Rowarth, Tirau.

From October 1, levy-paying dairy farmers will vote for their preferred candidates.

Electionz.com returning officer Anthony Morton says farmers will have until October 30 to cast their vote.

“This election provides dairy farmers with a chance to vote for the candidates they feel will provide the leadership and direction they’d like to see on the DairyNZ board,” says Morton.

“So we encourage levy paying dairy farmers to look out for the vote pack in the mail from early October, and to take the time to learn more about the candidates and cast their vote.”

DairyNZ’s board consists of five farmer-elected directors and three board-appointed directors. The successful candidate for the board will be announced at DairyNZ’s annual general meeting in Invercargill.


More like this

Support for stricken farmers

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor have announced a recovery package to help farmers get back to business more quickly after being cleared of Mycoplasma bovis.

Healthy teats, better milk

Maximising milking efficiency need not compromise animal health. In fact, many improvements to milking efficiency also help to improve udder health and milk quality.

Cleanliness, milk quality linked

The cleanliness of the milking system and the dairy is critical, and strict cleaning guidelines are needed to maintain milk quality standards.


» Latest Print Issues Online

Milking It

Clink clink

The sound of milk bottles is set to return to Marlborough.

‘We help farmers’

Fish & Game took umbrage at a Milking It story on farmer Dean Rabbidge and his tweet. It says contrary…


» Connect with Dairy News